How To (Not) Get Kidnapped For A Job

Dear Reader,

2 days ago, I interviewed for a karaoke hostess job on craigslist. At a boba tea place, I met 2 Korean guys in their early 20’s to 40’s (can’t tell with asians) who described the job as someone who sings and entertains the guys at the bar. They told me to join a ‘password protected’ chat on kakaotalk, a texting app popular in Korea. Found it weird but just chalked it up to LA. Sure, I knew there would be less than pleasant drunken disorderly behavior to deal with, but hey, at $120+ per 2 hours plus tip, this hustling artist smelled RENT.

Since the schedule was flexible, I decided to start Tuesday. Around 5:30 pm that day, I rushed to acting class at Stella Adler. In the labryinth of the hallway, I happened to run into my friend who reminded me class was canceled. She invited me to a creative/artist community house party, so DUH, I went. BOOM UNIVERSE SIGN: I canceled the karaoke gig just in case it went late. However, a few hours later, around 8:30 pm, I felt guilty for slacking off so decided to commit to the original plan of working.

I went home to get ready and texted Karaoke guys I’d be coming. One of the guys, a blonde haired Korean, asked if I could meet them at Denny’s, or if they could pick me up. In my blur of getting ready/thinking I could get a free ride, I texted them my address, followed with “what’s the address of the karaoke bar?” They ignored me the first time and the second time I asked, he sent me a random list of karaoke bars. So I wrote back, half jokingly, “Don’t try to kidnap me, I know karate.”

Silence. Then “Hyoon” responded : “You can’t work for us.”

!*@&$)&*(!#&)$ SKETCHY. May we be reminded that the #metoo movement is NOTHING NEW. There is a cultural and spiritual perversion that’s happening within our world, especially in the entertainment industry. The trafficking of innocent men, women and children occurs all the time. It’s not about how smart, careful, or “pious” you are….THIS SHIT CAN HAPPEN TO ANYONE. *pious, ew, hate that word. It reminds me of slut shaming, another abhorrent past time of society. Slut’s my word. Empowerment b*tches!

Remember: there’s a lot of good people in the world, but there’s also a fuckload of evil.

The highest echelons of our society from our politicians to musicians commit horrors for money and fame. Don’t let this dissuade you from your calling. Fortify. Strengthen. Be the spiritual warrior in the world and go forth with fierceness and love. Feel your fears and face them.

To any woman who is new to LA, it is beyond important to NEVER TAKE THINGS AT FACE VALUE AND ASK A LOT OF QUESTIONS. TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY YOUR WHEREABOUTS. VET VET VET.

Positivity should not equal STUPIDITY. Learn from my mistakes, loves. Please.

My carelessness could’ve led to a grave mistake. THANK YOU LIFE FOR TEACHING ME A HUGE LESSON. Na-MAH-stay!

We are all ephemeral. Our words, truth, purpose for GOOD is all we have when fighting against forces who have far more foothold in the public sphere.

Only light can drive out the darkness.

Wholeheartedly,

CeCe Chic

 

Leave a Comment